Vitamin A


The term vitamin A refers to all the connections which have the full effectiveness of retinol and its esters. A multitude of substance groups which have a similar effect in the body are counted among vitamin A. Thus, vitamin A comprises retinol itself and approx. 50 carotenoids (pre-stages of vitamin A - often known as provitamins - which can be converted into vitamin A by the body, e.g. beta carotene). Retinol was discovered in 1909.

Retinol
With enough additional fat intake, approx. 80 % of the liposoluble vitamin A is resorbed (resorption = absorption of substances into biological systems).


Function in the body

Vitamin A (retinol) plays an irreplaceable role in a lot of important processes and functions in the body. It is especially important for:

  • the growth of bones and many cells in the body
  • the body's defences (immune system)
  • the senses: Retinol is important for the eyes (part of the visual pigments of the retina), and also for hearing and smelling
  • the growth and maintenance of healthy skin and mucous membranes
  • for the development of the placenta
  • for the development of embryos
  • for reproduction and the creation of the hormone testosterone


Vitamin A in food

Roughly 2/3 of our demand for vitamin C is met by dairy products, meat, offal and eggs. Roughly 1/3 is met by fruit and vegetables (such as apricots, carrots, tomatoes, spinach or broccoli). It is easy for the human organism to absorb beta-carotene if a small amount of fat, such as olive oil or pumpkin seed oil, is taken in at the same time.

Beta-carotene absorbed by the organism is split up in the small intestine and converted into vitamin A (retinol). Vitamin A is stored in the liver and then transported to the somatic cells via the bloodstream.



Vitamin A deficiency

Sight disorders and dry skin can be the consequences of a long-lasting undersupply with vitamin A. Vitamin A deficiency can also lead to night blindness since the light/dark vision is impaired. Another consequence can be an increased susceptibility for infections of the respiratory systems.

Vitamin A therapies are also applied for cases of acne or psoriasis independent of a possible vitamin A deficiency.



We are pointing out that not all of these statements have been approved by orthodox medicine since there is a lack of placebo-controlled studies.

Vitamin A


Vitamin A im Körper


Vitamin D3 im Körper


Vitamin A Mangel

Further articles

Vitamin A


Man versteht unter der Bezeichnung Vitamin A, die Verbindungen, die die volle Wirksamkeit von Retinol und seinen Estern besitzen. Zu Vitamin A wird eine Vielzahl von Stoffgruppen, die im Körper ähnlich wirken, gezählt. So kann man dem Vitamin A z.B. Retinol selbst und ca. 50 Carotinoide (Vorstufen von Vitamin A, sogenannte Provitamine, die der Körper in Vitamin A umwandeln kann, z.B. Beta-Carotin) zuordnen. Entdeckt wurde Retinol im Jahre 1909.

Retinol
Das fettlösliche Vitamin A wird bei ausreichender zusätzlicher Fettversorgung zu ungefähr 80% resorbiert (Resorption = Aufnahme von Stoffen in biologischen Systemen).


Funktion im Körper

Für eine ganze Reihe wichtiger Abläufe und Funktionen im Körper ist Vitamin A (Retinol) unersetzbar. Besonders wichtig ist es an folgenden Stellen:

  • beim Wachstum der Knochen und vieler Zellen im Körper
  • für das körpereigene Abwehrsystem (Immunsystem)
  • für die Sinne: Retinol ist wichtig für die Augen (Bestandteil der Sehpigmente der Netzhaut), aber auch für Hören und Riechen
  • bei der Bildung und gesund Erhaltung von Haut und Schleimhäuten
  • bei der Entwicklung des Mutterkuchens (Plazenta)
  • bei der Entwicklung des Embryos
  • für die Fortpflanzung und die Herstellung des Hormons Testosteron


Vitamin A in der Nahrung

Ungefähr 2/3 seines Bedarfs an Vitamin-A deckt der Mensch über Milchprodukte, Fleisch, Innereien und Eier ab. Etwa 1/3 deckt er ab, indem er Obst und Gemüse (wie z.B. Aprikosen, Karotten, Tomaten, Spinat oder Brokkoli) zu sich nimmt. Für den menschlichen Organismus ist es einfacher Beta-Carotin aufzunehmen, wenn zugleich eine kleine Menge Fett, zum Beispiel Olivenöl oder Kürbiskernöl, verzehrt wird.

Vom Organismus aufgenommenes Beta-Carotin wird im Dünndarm aufgespalten und zu Vitamin A (Retinol) umgewandelt. Vitamin A wird in der Leber gespeichert und von dort aus über die Blutbahn zu den Körperzellen transportiert.



Vitamin A Mangel

Sehstörungen und ein trockenes Hautbild können die Folgen einer länger anhaltenden Unterversorgung mit Vitamin A sein. Der Vitamin-A-Mangel kann weiterhin zur Nachtblindheit führen, da das Hell-Dunkel-Sehen gestört ist. Eine weitere Folge kann die erhöhte Anfälligkeit für Infektionen der Atemwege sein.

Bei Akne oder Schuppenflechte (Psoriasis) zum Beispiel wird Vitamin A sogar zur Therapie eingesetzt, unabhängig von einem Mangel an diesem Vitamin.



Wir weisen darauf hin, dass nicht alle Aussagen von der Schulmedizin akzeptiert sind, da es an placebo-kontrollierten klinischen Studien fehlt.

Vitamin A


Vitamin A im Körper


Vitamin D3 im Körper


Vitamin A Mangel

Weitere Artikel